Zoning Board of Appeals

The zoning board of appeals is consists of seven members appointed by the mayor, by and with the consent of the village trustees. The members of board serve for five years. One of the members of said board shall be designated by the mayor, with the consent of the village trustees, as chairman of said board, and shall hold said office as chairman until his successor is appointed.

The board of appeals is hereby vested with the following jurisdiction and authority:

To hear and decide appeals from any order, requirement, decision or determination made by the zoning administrator or other authorized official of the village having jurisdiction under the zoning ordinance.

To hear and pass upon application for variations from the terms provided in the zoning ordinance subject to the standards set forth, except application for variations as part of a planned unit development, which will be the responsibility of the plan commission.

To receive all applications filed for special use permits and hold hearings and submit recommendations thereon to the board of trustees.

To hear and decide upon all matters which it is required to pass under this zoning ordinance, in accordance with applicable Illinois Statutes.

All meetings of the board of appeals shall be held at the call of the chairman and at such times as such board may determine. All hearings conducted by said board shall be open to the public. Any person may appear and testify at a hearing, either in person, or by duly authorized agent or attorney. The chairman, or in his absence, the acting chairman, may administer oaths and compel the attendance of witnesses.

Zoning Board of Appeals Members

Name Team Expiration
Rosalie Stimac 2017 appointed
William Norwood 2018 appointed
Herman Walter 2018 appointed
Roger Kregas 2018 appointed
Joseph DeFalco 2019 appointed
James Lussier 2021 appointed